Deidre's Amazing Blog

Watercoloring

Posted on: September 19, 2013

I have dabbled with watercolor before, back in school and when making little crafts for swaps. When I got a free high quality watercolor brush from a training at work I thought I might do some more watercolor studies which I previewed in the previous post. While I am satisfied with what I came out with I was kind of disappointed in the brush.

This is my new brush, an Escoda Prado series in a size 10 Filbert.

131_1929

 

It is quite different and more stately than the rest in my collection.

131_1932

 

And it is a different shape than what I have used in the past. The feel of the brush was pretty great and the hair felt great too. But my problem was that it was too absorbent for what I want to do with my watercolors. I like to splash them around and flick the paint off the brush which was a lot harder to do when it did not want to leave the brush! I still like the feel of it and think it is great for laying down washed and doing more detailed work, but when I want drips and splatters I am still going to go back to my cheapies.

I am working on uploading the watercolors I have done in my new Society 6 store (see link in sidebar) and will continue playing around with it in the future.

1 Response to "Watercoloring"

Good review on the brush! And I think you’re being quite honest. It must be a relief that you could try the expensive brush without spending the money for it. Enjoy your cheap brushes:-)
Blog Comment Hop #4 @ swap-bot
Lucine

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

