Deidre's Amazing Blog

Art Outside 2013

Posted on: September 10, 2013

Had a chance to go to 2 different art fairs happening in Saint Louis this weekend. I will have a post about the Clayton Art Fair in a couple days. This however was the first time I was able to go to the Art Outside fair sponsored by Schlafly. This fair was started as an alternate to the Clayton one and exclusively features local Saint Louis artists. I did not get to spend as much time at either fair as I would have liked but I did get to peruse every booth at least. Art Outside was a fun event and while it might be a bit smaller of a fair it still packed quite a punch. Here are some of my personal favorites.

Bill Perry – Bill (or Mr. Perry) was a teacher of mine in high school. I took his basic art class at Central Visual and Performing Arts for 3 out of 4 years. I run into him now and again at the art store I work at and other art events and live seeing his fun work. This time he was showing clay sculptures of fun little critters and creatures which were really great. His booth was actually the first thing that caught my and my friends eyes as we were crossing a parking lot towards the fair.

Mark Sheppard – Fun characters make up more of his work in paintings and drawings. Also uses a lot of good cross hatching in his work which I like. He’s created a fun little universe of characters that I’d like to visit.

Firecracker Press – By now Firecracker is surely a Saint Louis staple, you can recognize it instantly. I love their stuff and have gotten the chance to have some of it in postcard and advertising material forms. Bright and colorful and just designed and made well, it’s all good from Firecracker. Check out all their stuff on their site, and ps they offer classes.

Mark Grayson – Cool, cool, cool, beyond cool. Mark Grayson’s work consists of guitars made out of old cigar boxes, wood, and other antique elements. They look amazing, and the best part is they work. He was playing one hooked up to a little amp in the booth.

Dganit Moreno – Clay artist, with an amazing glaze. I asked about it and of course it is one she made herself. It was a beautiful celadon color, which I have been wanting to get into lately. Unfortunately I do not see anything like what was shown in person on the website linked. Aha Here we go, found a facebook page, gorgeous!!

Den Smith – Another case of the site showing different stuff than what I saw in person. The closest I can get is the art boxes. His sculptures were really fun each one included common objects and were painted fun colors and had their own little personality and face.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

