Deidre's Amazing Blog

Pattern plates

Posted on: August 28, 2013

Last couple times I’ve been in the studio I have been playing with some texture plates and acrylic paints and mediums. I have some thicker mediums to build up shapes in encaustic work and for use on fired ceramic pieces, and some stuff that I picked up from a demo at work. I like how my little samples turned out which can be seen below. I am setting up a new one on a wood panel but just got done priming it today, next comes building it up! The first image was done with Golden Course Modeling Paste, the second image was done with Golden Heavy Gel. I really like the modeling paste and it will probably be the one I used more in the future.  It feels kind of plastery and smooths out really well. I also like that it is an opaque white. The heavy gel was kind of like hair gel and was a little sticky, it didn’t leave as clean of an impression as a result of the stickiness. And the smooth gloss of it didn’t make it as absorbent for paint as the modeling paste.  However, I like the texture and colors I used on the gel one more than the modeling paste one :\

8-20-13 (6) 8-20-13 (5)

1 Response to "Pattern plates"

Thank youu for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your further post thank you oncee again.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

