Deidre's Amazing Blog

Pinteresting

Posted on: August 9, 2013

Yesterday I took to the late afternoon to craft away and looked to my Pinterest Crafticles Board for inspirations. After deciding that I didn’t want to get out a sewing machine or hand sew for that matter and eliminating like 1/2 the board I found 3 projects to play around with.

Project one: This pin showing you how to cut glass bottles. I’ve had this one for a while but never tried it, heard from people at work that it works. My dad had some glass tubes from work he wanted to cut into little bud vases so we tried it. Complete Bust for us! All we managed to do was light some cool fires. Not even a dent or scratch in the glass. Maybe they are too thick, or maybe my string wasn’t thick enough. Even tried with a rolled up tissue which made the best fire, but still got nothing.

Project two: This pin showing really cute fabric bowls made from fabric scraps. I did two, bowls one out of fabric scraps and one out of paper. The hardest part is making sure the right sides are facing out or in depending on which layer you are on. Once you soak the strips in the mixture it is hard to tell sometimes as a result some of mine is facing the wrong way. I started putting them all in face down in the mixture to try and keep it straight. My fabric one is taking longer to dry than over night, I had to add a little extra mod podge mixture this morning to stick down some loose spots. But it looks okay. I wish I had a deeper form to work with, I was using some paper bowls. I do have pictures of the paper one, finished with washi tap along the edge. Again its not a perfect bowl but a good little dish for whatever you have lying around.

Project three: This pin showing you how to melt plastic beads to make a cake stand. So I didn’t need a cake stand and I wanted to try this on a small scale before I wasted a ton of beads and possibly ruin a pan. I used a foil cupcake pan I still had lying around, and a plastic beading kit that has literally been in my possession for years, now being put to actual use! They melted just fine but I wish they were a bit flatter, and they look stellar, I used some of the clear beads too so they would have more transparent properties. Then I used scissors to trim some rogue edges, sandpaper to smooth it down, and a power drill to make some hole. So far I have a pair of earrings and a hanger for our fabulous dead tree in the back yard. Will probably use the rest for more hangers. I used stretchy cord wrapped in washi tape for the hanger.

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

