Deidre's Amazing Blog

Studio day

Posted on: June 12, 2013

Spent pretty much all day in my studio today. So I have a few updates. m

Ceramics:

Yesterday I started trying to reconstitute some clay from my toss bin. It was still too wet to play with today but I got quite a bit more moisture out of it and it should be ready to be thrown with by the end of the week I am sure. I also trimmed down a vessel. As it stands it would make for  a nice like luminary, or candle cover, but I may hold on to it then attach to something else later. I have several succulents/cacti that need to be replanted and since I cant find a suitable planter that I like for them I decided to throw one myself. Pictures below of what I threw today which I think should hold most of them.

Encaustic:

Tried a new color scheme, still bright colors but not as neon for this one. Also was trying to use paper as a barrier to build the encaustic up more. The one pictured below is not done yet but I was getting some nice layering going and want to play with the idea more. May try it with maybe like vaselined/greased metal or something instead of paper because the paper tended to absorb the wax and stick to it.

Other Crafts:

Got out my sewing machine that has not been used pretty much since we bought it several years ago. I read thru the manual and got it going and practiced a few stitches on it, still need to handle the pedal better but it’s a start!

Also did some little paper craft I had sitting around for a while. They are foldable paper dolls you can print offline. The characters are from Tim and Eric Awesome Show Great Job! Get your own here: Spaghett, Casey. You do need to print them on sturdy paper and have double sided tape or glue to hold them in place.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

