Deidre's Amazing Blog

Throwing Mountains long overdue

Posted on: April 9, 2013

This is a long overdue post about the group show I was in with several different artists I know. The show had an opening on Feb 1st, and a small closing Feb 22nd. It went well and we had several people come out for it. Everyone had a nice selection of their work represented and it ranged from charcoal, pen and ink, printmaking, ceramic, photography, and paintings. Had a small issue when setting up, a box was dropped and a piece broke 😦 I glued it together and painted over it with some bronze paint and the cracks were barely noticeable. But the speckled clay body looked so good it was a shame to see it go. Not sure if I personally would choose that venue again to show my own artwork. While the goings on downstairs do get people in the door it was sometimes a little distracting to the upstairs space. It is increasingly hard to find a venue that wants 3-d work since most spaces are used for other things too, ie concert venues, yoga studios, event rentals, etc. I have some other updates to do soon, but wanted to get this one done. I have included some pictures of my artwork on display in the space. Hopefully we can get another show together soon.

Since I am selfish, I did not take a lot of pictures of other folks work. But I am including links to some of their stuff so you can see it.

Tom Cline – Lots and lots and lots of prints. Pretty sure Tom does printmaking more often than breathing.

Joanne Rohe – Link is for her shop on Etsy which includes a lot of handmade books, but she also paints and draws.

Greg Griesenauer – There is a disclaimer on this site, which makes it more fun I think. Featured paintings in the show.

Derek Grimm – What’s that coming over the hill, is it a Monster!? Is it a Monster?! If you are looking at Derek’s art, it probably is.

Christy Combs – Photographer mostly, but also did some mixed media art relating to typography.

Hailey Francis – Currently just this Etsy page with her handmade bags, but expect bigger things from her in the future.

There were 3 other artists, but they do not have websites for their artwork, at least not that I can find. If that changes I will update!

Show 2-1-13 (20) Show 2-1-13 (18) Show 2-1-13 (16) Show 2-1-13 (12) Show 2-1-13 (10) Show 2-1-13 (7)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

