Deidre's Amazing Blog

A cut here, some pumice gel there

Posted on: October 17, 2012

Been fiddling around a bit with some different ways of doing things.

The first has been cutting into pottery all the way instead of sgrafitto with slip like I normally do. I have had a couple of failed attempts but think the new one is coming out okay. I have a picture below. I am still making like an amorphous blobby pattern with it but just hollowing out spaces in the form itself. I have also thrown a base to this piece since it is a bit short and I want to give it some height. The failed attempts mostly had to do with either the clay being too wet, or the cuts being too close together, or both!

I also am really liking pumice gel lately. I tried some out before on a set of clay earrings and really enjoyed the texture and the fact I can apply it to wet clay and fire it and it doesn’t burn out. I want to add it to some more pottery and have some stuff with that rough texture, I may add some to the base of the piece I mentioned above. However I have already been adding it to an encaustic piece I have been playing with. I have a picture of that below too. This piece will probably get some more of the light green added to it and I might add some clay beads to it hanging underneath, not sure yet still playing with it, I just know it’s not done yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

