Deidre's Amazing Blog

Adventures in cake decorating

Posted on: March 20, 2012

I have taken my art into a new venture with cake decorating. I just finished week 3 of the class and it is a lot of fun. I can’t wait to do some of the fondant and gum paste type stuff that will be more sculptural. For now we have just been doing some different icing decorations. Everyone comes out different and they definitely take some practice. We have already learned so much. It will just be another type of 3 dimensional art for me to practice and one that others can enjoy by eating it!

Here are some pictures of my first decorated cake and some cupcakes from tonight.

Also little note, I will have some of my ceramic sculpture flowers in a group show at Mad Art Gallery during the month of April. As we get closer to the date I will have more info about it, the reception will be April 6th.

4 Responses to "Adventures in cake decorating"

Cool! Cake decorating seems like it would be such a fun and rewarding thing to get into! Yummy!
PS: I’m kawaiicupcakes from swapbot for the Check out my blog swap!

These are so pretty! Yummy….I adore cakes of any kind. Love that you were able to bring your artwork to baking. I only wish I could taste them. Ha ha!

Hachiko from the blog swap @ swap bot

Great work on the decorations! I would love to take a cake decorating class 🙂

oooh! what fun, art mixed with food, you can’t go wrong! (well I can because I am terrible at it haha) but these are excellent! I love the ones that look like spaghetti bolognese haha! (emoddle)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

