Deidre's Amazing Blog

Photos of carved things

Posted on: January 29, 2011

As promised I have photos of the carving work (or sgrafitto) I have been doing as of late. There are three different things (five if you count the lids) and they are each a different colour. I am still deciding as to whether or not to glaze the exterior of the pieces or only the interior. I might not glaze the large bowl at all. I have time to decide as they go through the first line of firings. It will be easier to decide once I feel them after that.

The bowl is a a normal blue with red markings on the circles on white clay. I think after the firing it will really pop! One jar is distressed with a black and grey slip on white clay. It has markings like branches with other markings. The other jar is robin’s egg blue (that looks kind of green now) is a bubbly pattern also on white clay.

2 Responses to "Photos of carved things"

Hi blackbird 4 from s b here .You’re not on my list but I’m nosey and thought I’d take a look!!! .You ‘re great you do loads of stuff how do you stay motivated

For a while I had lost some of my motivation to be honest. I was not doing much, especially over the holidays. But participating in crafty swaps and seeing what others do and creating a space for myself at home to work on things really helped. I can do most anything here, except actually fire the clay stuff and throw on the wheel. I usually go down to my space once or twice during the week and spend much of the weekend in it. Just working on whatever I can.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

