Deidre's Amazing Blog

Back in the Studio

Posted on: November 14, 2010

After a bit of a break from being able to get into the studio when I wanted to, I have been heading back more regularly.

I have thrown another round of teabowls, these ones to looks more like a certain one that I swapped with someone who would like another. I think a couple of them just might work. It is hard for me to force the clay into something as I am usually more natural with it, but I think based on the pictures I have of the other one, and how I remember it that a couple of the ones I have recently thrown and trimmed will work out well.  I have included pictures of the last batch of teabowls below.

I have also been sketching out some shapes for a new large slab/coil sculpture. I want to play with some ideas of openess, in the form of some open and closed off holes in the piece, a larger opening encircling a smaller one, etc. This will be a good project in the coming months when the studio is more empty and I can have the whole place to myself 🙂 I am selfish a bit when it comes to the studio 😉

There is also another carving project I have been working on that is turning out nicely, but I would like to get more carved away before photographing it. A few finished projects should be on etsy soon so keep checking!

Here is one of the playlists I listened to the other day in the studio

Good Girls Go to Heaven (Bad Girls go Everywhere) – Meatloaf
Dig – Incubus
Hate (I Really Don’t Like You) – Plain White T’s
Fell In Love Without You (Acoustic) – Motion City Soundtrack
Simple Kind of Life – No Doubt
Halloween Americana- Everclear
L.G. Fuad – Motion City Soundtrack
The Modern Age – The Strokes
In Da Club – 50 Cent
Black and White People – Matchbox Twenty
I’m So Crazy – Adam Richman
These Streets – Paolo Nutini
The Click – Good Charlotte
Sweat the Battle Before the Battle Sweats You – Cute is What weAim For
Stand Too Close – Motion City Soundtrack
Vultures – John Mayer
Capital H – Motion City Soundtrack
In the End – Linkin Park
(apparently it was a Motion City kind of day)

and the pictures of the teabowls.

1 Response to "Back in the Studio"

Enjoyed reading this, will check back soon!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

