Deidre's Amazing Blog

Mixing Glazes

Posted on: September 26, 2010

I have not done it in a while, but it has become apparent that I must mix some glazes. A clay mix I used that was laying around the studio begging for someone to use before drying up was called a B-Mix. I had thought it was low fire. However, I have now found out it is a cone 5 mid fire clay. I could still use my low fire glazes on it, but it has been a while since I mixed glazes. I really want to try out some new colours. So now I must go out and search for some that will work well at this temp. The clay body itself looks quite nice left white, and maybe some of will stay that way. I will have to run some test as well. When I have some colours chosen and tested I will be sure to post again with results!

These websites have some great recipes to try on variety of temps. And with names like, Floating Blue, or Seacrest Purple, I cannot wait to try some of them, even some of the other temps. I have plenty of work to test on.

Glaze Site

Glaze Site 2

1 Response to "Mixing Glazes"

How cool! I checked out your etsy and am amazed by all the wonderuful art you make!My favorite was the ‘brush of blue teabowl’!
Glad I got to check it out!

(I am part of the Art Blog Swap)

: )

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

