Deidre's Amazing Blog

Succesful Glaze Firing!

Posted on: July 9, 2010

Ran a small glaze firing on my own and it was quite successful. Everything came out really vibrant and nice. A lot of it was future magnets which worked out really well as texture and glaze tests. I will definitely keep making magnets for that and for free gifts or samples and such. The only possible problem with the firing was some crazing on a couple of tea bowls. I had some high fire tea bowls and put the low fire glaze on them and fired them at the low temperature. I had done some research on this and knew that crazing was a more than likely outcome, but that they may have also come out just fine. Well I was hearing plenty of tings and pings coming from those 2 bowls. I left them in the studio instead of bringing them home with everything else, maybe they ahve calmed down by now. There are a few cracks and pinholes on them too. But it was a test and that is what tests are for!

On the music front, I still do not have a functioning player, and haven’t been lugging my computer. But my phone has 2 gigs on it which has been keeping the studio loud, but is quite repetitive. I may just start bringing a boombox or something in there, but all the studio radios in the past have gone to hell in a matter of weeks!

Here are some photos of the stuff that came out of the firing, including the CRAZED tea bowls!!

3 Responses to "Succesful Glaze Firing!"

definitely looks like a great success! the hearts are cute!

I love the market 😀 Following you from the Blog Me Baby swap on Swap-Bot! ~Liz (lizzibeth226)

I love the hearts too. {billiemonster from swap-bot ‘blog me baby’ swap}

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

