Deidre's Amazing Blog

Trying Something New

Posted on: April 19, 2010

A few posts ago I posted a link to a video of someone using the Throwing Off the Hump technique to make several tea bowls in a short amount of time. I watched that video over and over and finally decided to try it out for myself. I throw smaller things but never have done the off the hump thing of throwing several items off one large lump of clay. The session was a little rocky, and pretty much every single one has a bit of a bump in it from taking it off the hump to place on a board, which is the main thing I need to practice on. However, I got some decent little cups/bowls, and they have quite a bit of thickness on the bottom for fun times trimming.

Also I got a paying part-time job near the studio so I have been making more frequent stops in there so I will definitely be trying this once more soon. I threw this set with grey classroom clay which is high-fire and something I haven’t been throwing with in a while. I just didn’t want to waste a lot of my nice low-fire clay in case I never got the hang of it. I also made a  normal sized bowl once I was down to a smaller lump. The next session I will use my low-fire, either the white or the red, I think I have more red so we’ll see.

Here are photos of the what I was able to make. One includes my hand (which is small anyway lol) to give you a reference to how small they are.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

