Deidre's Amazing Blog

New Coil/Slab Piece – Disaster Edition

Posted on: April 14, 2010

Been working on a new coil/slab sculpture dealing with faces. I have a friend that has a rather interesting profile angle of his face, and my own face is pretty much fantastic so I decided to use them in sculpture. I have done a self portrait in clay before, which isn’t that great… I often make it face the wall so I don’t have to see it’s face. But for this project I just used profile silhouettes. I plan on doing a series, all having half of it be my face, and the other be other peoples faces; other friends, family, interesting and willing strangers!

Now for the DISASTER that was kind of averted. Last week I went to studio and there was a glaze firing done (see previous post for excitement!) and so while I was taking photos and then later packing up things in boxes my friend (who is the same friend I am using for the project) was working on something of his own. I asked him while he was spraying and covering his own stuff if he would spray and cover our faces while I was packing up. He sprayed it… but didn’t cover it! I am kicking myself that I didn’t go back and check. i went to bed that nite and had the sudden though “I bet he didn’t cover it!” I couldn’t get there the next day, but on the following day I went in and sure it was VERY dry. It still needed some polishing especially on the inside.

The sculpture didn’t take too kindly to being sprayed and fiddled with. I got some level of smoothness on the outside. It broke once and got a crack in the “neck” area. The break was able to be healed with a slip and score and I cut away the “neck area completely  and smoothed it out. The inside is still a little weird not as smooth as I would like, but I can’t do anything about it now without causing major crackness, and cracks are wack!

Anyway it’s not terrible but it could have been better, a few weeks of work is now kind of just a test piece. 😦 There have been several ideas floating about as to what to do with these; cutting out the base and having them stand as hollow silhouettes in different sizes, putting a top on them making it like a face shaped box, etc. I think I might hang this one on the wall. I still have the cardboard cutouts to try another Deidre/Paul piece.

Here are some pictures pre and post ceramic surgery.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

