Deidre's Amazing Blog

Sharing a Technique

Posted on: March 5, 2010

Thought I would share this with whomever stumbles across my blog. I am a fan of Ceramics Monthly on Facebook and find a lot of interesting things about technique and new things, or just lots of beautiful art from their updates and posts. The one today was really fascinating. I have been told how to throw off the hump before but never really seen it done properly by my professors or other artists. I really have never done it. Also I rarely throw with more than like 5 pounds of clay tops, usually less. I am scared of it quite frankly, when I get too much clay on there things often become out of control. I have really worked on my own technique and have shaved a lot of time off the routine. I thought I was fast, but watching this guy throw 4 tea bowls in four minutes was astonishing I just kept staring. I definitely need to watch it a few more times and bring it to studio with me next time to try out the “off the hump” technique.

Link to VIDEO

-Deidre

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

