Deidre's Amazing Blog

Glazing Session

Posted on: February 1, 2010

Yes it’s true stuff was actually fired when I went to the studio the other day!! I was excited and proceeded to spend several hours glazing the pieces. I glazed almost everything, there were about 3-4 pieces that I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with yet. Some of the pieces already had underglaze or slip on them so they just got a clear coat put on top of them (hence the multitude of light pink colouring on everything). I also used some more crystalline glazes, I have used them only once before, (on this piece) but like the concept of them, with all the spotting and built in patterns. One I tried out was called “Cosmic Black” I put is on the stars which I hope is going to be a perfect match. I used some reds and pinks and lilacs on the hearts and covered some of them with a clear coat as well since some of the glazes were matte and I wanted some shine. The large bowl in the piece has some wave like texture on it and I wanted to make it look like water and have a crashing of different types of blues. I used different blue underglazes and glazes and even a blue crystalline called “Monsoon Blue” perfect for the crashes and blue I wanted. I will keep the blog updated with how everything turns out.  Here is what they looked like yesterday.

2 Responses to "Glazing Session"

hi! thanks for visiting my blog. you asked me where i got those OPI alice in wonderlad nail polishes, and i got them on amazon ($11 for the minis set). hope this helps! 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

