Deidre's Amazing Blog

New Toys in the Studio

Posted on: January 24, 2010

I love getting new things in the studio to play with now and again. I have bene playing with my tile cutters, which I have had for quite a while but never utilized because I always did more wheel throwing. Over the past year or so I have been doing a lot more handbuilding and coming up with some great pieces.

My latest discovery is molds! I found a mold shop on etsy The Clay Shoppe  by Ametista I instantly liked a lot of the molds, the only problem was that in the descriptions for the molds it said for use with polymer clay and  precious metal clay… not ceramic clay! I sent a message asking if they knew if it would work for ceramic clay and they offered me to try out one of the molds for just the price of shipping. I was really grateful, and excited. They let me try the Plum-a-licious mold and after waiting a week for it to come I tried it out in studio and IT WORKED!!! I loved it, and it made the perfect little edition to some of the little plate/dish things I have been making lately. I took some photos that day but, I did not have my camera so I had to use my phone.

I loved it and purchased 2 new molds from them which I played with, just yesterday. The You’re Getting Sleepy Swirl mold was a little shallow for the ceramic clay, it made a decent impression, but was hard to cut off, and might be better just to press in some pieces not to cut off like I did with the others (see below for the process I used). The Fleur-de-lis  mold was perfection, I think it might be my favorite. I am glad I chose this size Fleur-de-lis, it is amazing. I will have pictures of these when the pieces are fired most likely.

How I used the mold with ceramic clay.
1. Roll out a slab of clay, thickness can vary, I used the slab roller in the studio and the slabs were about 1/4 inch thick
2. Use a rib to compress the clay and smooth it out
3. Sprinkle a little bit of baking flour on the slab of clay where you want to put the mold.
4. Press the mold firmly on the floured clay slab, you have to really press down good and hard
5. Lift mold out carefully, do not wiggle it.
6. Cut out mold from slab and using any type of knife or needle tool slowly scrape the mold away from the slab, making just the mold height (note if you want it thick, that is fine as well I just preferred them thin)
7. Use the mold on whatever you wish 🙂

–Deidre

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

