Deidre's Amazing Blog

Studio Time

Posted on: December 22, 2009

Yesterday seemed like a perfect enough day to go into the studio. I had thrown a few things days ago and they were all ready for a nice trim. What is really super great is  that the school studio that I go to, somehow got its hands on a Giffin Grip! (http://www.giffingrip.com/)  The last time I used one was in high school which seems like forever ago. They make the trimming of thrown things so much easier, they get a good grip on the piece, have several height options, and re-center the piece fast and effectively. I have been trying to get one at the college forever, and of course they get one after I graduate. Anywho if you are a ceramic artist who throws a lot and do not have one already go get a Giffin Grip! They are a bit pricey but totally worth it.

Here are some pictures of what I am working on in studio now, before and after use on the Giffin Grip. And of the thing I always bring to studio with me, Diet Mtn Dew!

I am always listening to music in studio too, usually on my iTunes random. Here is what got played yesterday.

Paolo Nutini – These Streets
Sugar Daddy – Stephen Trask (Hedwig and the Angry Inch  Soundtrack)
Prince – U Got the Look
Marilyn Manson – Disposable Teens
Bon Jovi – Someday I’ll Be Saturday Night
U2 – I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
Prince – I Would Die 4 U
Tinted Windows – Messing With My Head
No Doubt – Sunday Morning (Had to take a dance break for this one)
John Mayer – Wait Until Tomorrow
The Academy Is… – Checkmarks
Unwell – Matchbox Twenty
Property – Say Anything
All I Need (Live) – Matchbox Twenty
Thinking of You – Hanson (don’t make fun, btw random fact, Taylor’s voice changed while they made this record so listen to this and then listen to I Will Come To You back to back and hear the difference)
I’ll Believe You When – Matchbox Twenty
Diamond Meadows – T.Rex (Velvet Goldmine Soundtrack)
Under the Western Stars – Everclear
The Walk – Hanson
Purple Rain – Prince
Cry Me a River – Justin Timberlake
Ayo Technology – 50 Cent w/ Justin Timberlake (I admit after listening to Justin I had to have some more)
Cheekybugger – Len
My Orphan Year – NoFX
Mouthwash – Kate Nash
It’s Nice to Know You Work Alone – Silversun Pickups (is it just me or does it sound like sometimes they say ‘it’s nice to know you wear cologne’?)

-Deidre

3 Responses to "Studio Time"

Love your pictures of what goes on behind the beautiful work you do. I have bookmarked your blog and will be following you.

I love your playlist! Nothing makes crafts time go faster than some good songs. 🙂

I can’t wait to see where your blog (and etsy site) takes you.

Cool, I got to see a work in process! Great blog, and great music playlist, too!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

My Etsy Shop

Follow me on Facebook

My Society 6 (2d work)

Paul Society 6

Follow me on Tumblr

Archives

